top of page
Search

Mickey Mousin' Cookies

So this post was inspired by a customer that I have worked with before that asked me to recreate some Mickey Mouse cookies. There are 2 things about my way of working or style when it comes to decorating. I like simple. I'm not an overly fussy decorator-it's just a preference. And I like ease. If there is an easy way of doing than I'm a happy decorator. The less tools, the less paper, or supplies, the less errands or items I need to buy, the better. And that, my friends, is how this post came to be.


So back to the Mickey Mouse cookies. I like simple. We have covered that. But I also like finesse, symmetry, and clean lines as much as possible. So the Mickey Mouse cookie in fact was not terribly difficult. And you COULD just draw a line across with your icing or food marker, but I wanted to make sure that I had my proportions right. (torso to shorts). This is the inspiration for the cookie....




Again, pretty simple design. But if you are doing a lot of these, you want to make sure you get the shorts on all the cookies drawn the same or they are going to look a little TOO homemade. I figured I could get around this with a few methods, but came across my trusty sketchbook and Sugarbelle food marker and behold, the problem was solved!


I didn't use a Pico, or a template. Both of those required me having to get up and actually do some more work on top of decorating the cookies. But I had my sketchbook close at hand and my jar of decorating tools all equipped at my side for when I begin any cookie decorating. So this is how I went about making these cute Mickey Mouse cookies the EASY way. No template, No projector. Just paper and, preferred, food marker.


Begin with taking a plain cookie. In this case, the mickey ears shape cookie.


Then I placed the cookie on top of a clean sheet of paper in my sketchbook.


Using my Sugarbelle marker, I traced an exaggerated line around the mickey cookie. What I mean by that is I didn't draw the line too tight close to the cookie itself. I angled the marker somewhat away from the cookie so that I got a bigger outline than that of the cookie.


Then I drew the line for the pants. The next part is key, and what makes this simple, without using a projector OR a template, but ensures that your lines are all "lining" up on your cookies.


When you place your cookies on top of the drawing, you will see the line peeking through at either end of the cookie.( the Right and Left sides of the cookie)

Now when I went in with my red royal icing for the pants, I started from left to right and just followed the "start" point of the line that is visible and kept piping until I saw the "end" point of the line visible at the other end. By making the mickey drawing slightly bigger, I was able to see this line where it ends and begins, helping me to draw (pipe) consistent lines on the cookies.


The rest is just pretty easy peasy from here....



Pipe your border with whatever consistency you are comfy with!


Flood the pants (ewww. Sorry, that doesn't sound very appetizing, does it). Fill it with your shade of red icing.


Now go in and fill in two small yellow dots (wet on wet technique)


Now go in and fill your ears (sorry for the lack of border as pictured earlier) somehow I mixed up the order of my cookies and started taking pics of cookies without borders.


And there you have your Mickey Cookies!


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page